top of page

1

Featured Posts

Rockfornations Interviews to Michael Suilleabhain – Emerald Sabbath

A cordial greeting to everybody through your favorite webzine Rockfornations, we got an exclusive interview with a huge Black Sabbath fan, Mr. Michael Suilleabhain from Castletownbere in West Cork, Ireland and Emerald Sabbath Project founder. We let you with our special guest. Let’s start…

R. What do you do for living?

M. S. Hi MATE! Firstly, thanks for taking time out to do this. I work as a construction safety officer as well as doing accident investigations into work accidents and deaths. I also work as nuclear construction safety inspector and a DJ as well.

R. I read you used to collect and listen to other Metal bands before Black Sabbath. How did you become a Sabbath fan? I mean, how did you get hooked?

M. S. A friend of mine in Ireland gave me an audio tape of Black Sabbath’s first album in 1983 and that was it.

R. How old are you when you first received/listened to that Sabbath cassette? And what's your friend's name?

M.S. I was 13 when I got the Black Sabbath tape. My mate is called Paul Sheehan.

R. As a die-hard fan that has been following Sabbath history for a long time, what did the two Reunion shows in Birmingham (2007) and their Final tour “The End” in 2017 mean for you?

M.S. The 2 reunion shows were fantastic. I was over the moon to see the original line up with Bill Ward that was 1999 not 2007 although, I did see Heaven and Hell on all UK shows in 2007. I got a Bill Ward’s drums stick on the 1999 show. The final tour 2017 was fantastic. I went to all UK shows and 4 off them were backstage where I met them.

R. Oh my Goodness! How did you get Bill's drumsticks from that show? Who did you kill to get them? Ha, ha, ha! I guess it was at backstage.

M.S. I got a security guy to go back stage and asked Bill for a stick and got one.

R. How do you always manage to get items signed by the musicians? Are you just a lucky fan or do you have your VIP contacts?

M.S. I am a lucky fan, but I got some very good contacts as well.

R. Who is Mr. Tony Iommi for you?

M.S. Tony is the founder of Black Sabbath, the greatest Rock/Metal band ever... and my hero.

R. Which Black Sabbath era has influenced you the most and why?

R. What Sabbath members have you met in concerts?

M.S. I met Neil Murray, Geoff Nicholls (R.I.P.), Ozzy, Tony, Adam, Geezer, Terry Chimes, Tony Martin, Vinny Appice, Bobby Rondinelli. That’s what I remember anyway...

R. Oh boy you met Mr. Geoff Nicholls (R.I.P). I wanted to interview him but unfortunately I couldn't.

M.S. I met Geoff for first time on Tyr tour and got his autograph which I will post soon.

R. Who was the first and last one you talk with? (I guess the 1st one was Tony Martin). What did you guys talk about?

M.S. I cannot remember the first Sabbath guy I met, but it was not Tony Martin. It was actually Geezer Butler at an Ozzy solo gig in Bristol UK where he signed my “Never Say Die” video.

R. Did you ever dream of producing an album with the participation of nothing but ten former band members?

M.S. Not in my wildest dreams that I would do this project with ex members, but in 2015 it began to happen with Adam Wakeman.

R. How did you contact them to get involved in the Emerald Sabbath project?

M.S I just emailed them and old them what I am doing and asked if they want be involved and they said yes.

R. When did you start to produce “Ninth Star” album?

M.S. I started to produce “Ninth Star” on May 15th 2015 when Adam Wakeman did “Changes” keyboards for me.

R. I’ve heard the project has had excellent reviews (10 over 10) by the specialized media and fans around the world. Are you comfortable with the results of appearing on the magazines, posts, web sites and having social media attention recently?

M.S. I am mostly delighted with the response thought they have been some problems.

R. Was there any “problem” to work with many people at the project?

M.S. I would rather not get into the problems I had doing this. Let me tell you from the start they was/is a consecutive effort to make my project fail and I have proof of this. On Jan. 2017 my website was hacked and taken down and I had loads of other problems with so called professionals in the music industry.

R. I see. That sucks! Luckily you were able to recover it and overcome. Do you have any anecdotes on working along with the former Sabbath members?

M.S. Most of the guys did recording at their own studios.

R. Why did you decide to record “She’s Gone” with Dave Walker on vocals and to dedicate the song “Stonehenge” to Mr. Geoff Nicholls (R.I.P.)?

M.S. I did “She’s Gone” because it’s one of my favourite Sabbath songs and I dedicated “Stonehenge” to Geoff Nicholls because he was going to do keyboards originally, but he was sadly taken by cancer.

R. I love “She’s Gone” too. What did it motivate you to remixed and remastered “Die Young”, “Hole in the Sky” and the other songs of the album?

M.S. My plan was to sing on the first 1000 CDs on “Changes” which I did and got Dave to sing on the rest as well as that there were some production issues with these tracks related to the subject that I mentioned earlier and there is a connection between the two.

R. Michael, what do you remember when singing the song “Changes” in NINTH STAR? Would you do it again for the next one?

M.S. No way ha, ha! I’m thinking about it now. I must have been mad to sing “Changes” ha, ha, ha! But it was my dream since “13” to sing with Black Sabbath members on an album and I did. It was so funny. I went through 3 voice coaches in the process, but got there in the end. I never said I was a singer.

R. I’d love to listen to your version of “Changes”. Do you think to make a tribute album is very complicated and delicate? Don’t you?

M.S. It’s O.K. to do when you get reliable people to work with.

R. Are you planning to record some promotional video clips like you did with “She’s Gone” and edit/release an official DVD/Blu-ray and Ninth Star on vinyl? Or maybe a very limited collector’s edition signed by yourself and some of the musicians who participated in it?

M.S. I’m going to do a huge package-deluxe with vid footage next year.

R. Does it have anything new that it hasn’t been covered before?

M.S. Different “Die Young” with saxophone and loads other bits.

R. It sounds very interested the great boxset deluxe edition with vid footage. It would be amazing to hear "Die Young" played with a saxophone. Wow! That's what I call being creative.

How did you hire the Australian guitarist Pete Rinaldi who has been involved with different musicians such as Natalie Imbrulia, Gary Barlow, Hotleg and Rick Wakeman among others to play all tracks in the project? Are you going to call him again?

M. S. Adam Wakeman put me in contact with Pete Rinaldi and this time I will not be using him again for recording.

R. How was working with the worldwide recognised English sound engineer, record producer and Grammy Award-winning Mr. Mike Exeter?

M.S. Mike Exeter only did the original “Die Young” guitar mixing of Pete Rinaldi and DC Cothern.

R. At a recent interview you said you there will be a Vol 2 of this album? Please, let us know some details about what we can expect? How will it be titled?

M.S. Volume 2 has already started with 2 ex-Sabbath drummers already done recording. Tracks so far are “Headless Cross”, “Heaven and Hell, “Solitude” and Mr. Jeff Fenholt (R.I.P.) was going to sing “Children of the Grave”.

R. Have you talked to any of the original members to participate in the next album?

M.S. I’m not going to ask any original members to record on Volume 2. I’m concentrating on new guests from other huge bands. I will let you know.

R. Is it being difficult to produce a second album?

M.S. Not difficult to record second album as I have learned mistakes from the first time.

R. Have you considered including Lisa Ljunberg (Swedish singer/pianist) and the English Chamber Choir again?

M.S. The English Chambers Choir may be involved again just doing a suitable track, maybe “Sabbra Cadabra”. Lisa may do vocals once more. I have not asked her yet, it’s early days.

R. How have Vinnie Appice and Terry Chimes been involved?

M.S. Vinny and Terry Chimes have already recorded for new EP.

R. Is there something already recorded? What song is going to be selected as the first single?

M.S. “Solitude” will be the single and will be released in digital download.

R. We have been listening to tons of Black Sabbath tribute albums. What does it make different or special “Ninth Star” and its Vol 2?

M.S. What makes this special is that I did this, a fan. I am not a list Rock star or a member of a rock band doing covers. I as a fan did all this myself and as you can see, no fan has ever done this before and in classical form as well.

R. Do you feel intimidated or pressure somehow about the expectation that Emerald Sabbath has generated? Will it be better than the previous one?

M.S. No pressure no more, as I am in control of everything now and not relying on other people.

R. Where will it be recorded and mixed?

M.S. Vol 2 will be recorded all over the place members live all over the world, but mixing etc. will be done by Kevin Poree in the UK as he is one of the few people I trust in this saga.

R. Will be Mr. Hugh Gillmour (graphic designer on Sabbath’s Born Again album) in charge of the next album cover design once more?

M.S. Richard Manny from Technical Ecstasy has already designed Vol 2 artwork along with Colin Elgie. Hugh Gilmour will again be designing the CD/vinyl booklet.

R. Please, say the first thing you think when I tell you:

Swan Lake: M.S. Best piece of music ever written.

Ronnie Dio: M.S. Total legend and I miss him.

Heaven and Hell: M.S. Great album and great band. It upsets me to see Black Sabbath fans online arguing over who best Sabbath drummer/singer etc.

Geoff Nicholls: M.S. Lovely guy and great keyboard player.

“13” (album): M.S. Glad they made new album.

R. To conclude our talk, do you want to say something else to Black Sabbath fans and people who visit this webzine?

M.S. My motto is: “IF YOU LOVE BLACK SABBATH-YOU LOVE ALL BLACK SABBATH”, but my message to Sabbath fans around the world. We are a special family that exists nowhere else and we should all be proud to have the greatest rock band on earth as our favourites. You are the best and most loyal fans ever. Keep rocking. Regards Michael Suilleabhain//Emerald Sabbath.

Thank you very much Michael. It was an honor and pleasure to interview you. We look forward to hearing from you and your EMERALD SABBATH project soon. All the best always!

Visit his official site at: https://emeraldsabbath.com/

Razer Flores, Venezuelan Press, Webmaster at Rockfornations www.rockfornations.wixsite.com/rockfornations

Email: razer_flores@hotmail.com Twitter: @iamRazer_F

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No hay tags aún.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page